Selection Committee

Every term, five international experts in the fields of design, urban planning, and economic and social development are named to the WDC Selection Committee.

Their final selection is based on a number of criteria, including the ways in which citizens benefit from the use of design in city planning, the capacity to organize and finance a year-long programme of design events, the mobilization and participation of the wider design community and large sectors of the population and visitors, and the fostering of a wider dialogue on urban revitalization strategies.

Click here to see a list of past committees.

2018 Selection Committee

Mugendi K. M’Rithaa
2013-2015 Icsid President-Elect
Professor at Cape Peninsula University of Technology

Meric Gertler
President Meric Gertler, PhD, FRSC, FAcSS, MCIP

Luyanda Mpahlwa
Director & Design Principal
DesignSpaceAfrica (Pty) Ltd

Abigail Posner
Head of Strategic Planning, Agency Development, Google

Wen-Je Ko
Mayor of Taipei